Phrasal verbs -a,b,c

I am launching a series of short lists of phrasal verbs with which I am less familiarized then I want to be.

These would help me when looking up for them should my memory let me down whenever I feel like writing in English.

act up – misbehave, cause trouble;

beaver away – work hard, toil, labour;

belt up – be quiet, quieten down, be silent, stop talking;

be bowled over – overwhelmed, amazed, astounded, impressed

bunk off – play truant, be absent;

catch on – flourish, succeed, become popular, thrive

chew over – meditate on, mull over, think about, consider

clock up – achieve, register, record

cobble together – improvise, contrive, devise

come down on – rebuke, reprimand, admonish

conk out – malfunction, stop working

cop out – avoid, shirk, dodge, skip

cosy up to – cultivate, curry favour with, befriend, ingratiate oneself with

cotton on to – understand, come to realize

cry off – withdraw

be cut up – be distressed, be upset

If I caught your interest, please feel free to comment, or to even come up with samples of phrases which would include one or more of the above phrasal verbs.

A big “Thank you!” in advance

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Phrasal verbs -a,b,c

  1. Camix says:

    OO, these are extremely useful for me! 🙂 Anytime.

    Maybe the beaver one comes from the personality types used in this test:
    http://ortegatv.com/Documents/Personality%20check%20list.pdf
    which, by the way, I recommend to all the readers and I’m also curious about the results, if the participants care to reveal them.

    • sam says:

      I’m glad you find it helpful.
      The test results were surprisingly…inaccurate if I take into account how I am perceived by people around me: equally lion and otter.
      Or it is me suppressing the real me 🙂 ?

      • Camix says:

        Haaaa, otter i would have guessed. And I assume you are surprised by the lion part. I don’t know, you could do it again after a while, it might have slightly different results. Or it might be the fact that you keep your lion-like features under control?

  2. Agnusstick says:

    Too much or too little iron in the system can conk you out for good, but, as I’m still chewing over it, I’m slowly clocking up to cottoning on to a thought that bowles me over: one must cop out of nails, and catch on the needles. To cosy up with both would be the ideal Christian way, but nails are outdated as a treatment.

  3. Pingback: Phrasal verbs and sayings – a taster | Blog

Leave a Reply

