Phrasal verbs for beginners: Let’s steal away, Jesus

I became fond of a series of celtic songs I am listening to in the car coming back home late night from work.

It is not the next one which I actually stumbled upon while looking for the lyrics of one of them and reminded me while listening, of my childhood. It was the memory of the long years spent in the company of like-minded people,people whose life was centred around faith, local church and eternal life that brought this song to life for me.

Steal away, steal away, steal away to Jesus
Steal away, steal away home
I ain’t got long to stay here

My Lord, He calls me
He calls me by the thunder
The trumpet sounds within-a my soul
I ain’t got long to stay here

Green trees are bending
Po’ sinner stand a-trembling
The trumpet sounds within-a my soul
I ain’t got long to stay here

The song which stole my attention initially was this one. More mature in message for a more mature being that I consider myself these days

“Steal Away”

Steal away, let’s steal away,
No reason left to stay.
For me and you,
Let’s start anew,
And darlin’ steal away.

Ooooh, ooooh

Let’s steal away and chase our dream,
And hope they never find us.
The dreary days, the empty nights,
We’ll leave them all behind us.

Ooooh, aaaaah

Steal away, let’s steal away
No reason left to stay.
For me and you,
Let’s start anew,
And darlin’ steal away.

Oooooh.

We’ll leave with just our memories,
And make a new beginning.
We have to choose,
To win or lose,
And it’s time we started winning.

Mmmmm, aaaaah

Steal away, let’s steal away,
No reason left to stay.
For me and you,
Let’s start anew,
And darlin’ steal away.
Steal away, let’s steal away,
No reason left to stay.
For me and you,
Let’s start anew,
And darlin’ steal away.

The Jesus hiding behind well-meant but blurry words in my childhood religious songs gave way to the one closer to home.


		
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

