In the beginning there was no need for one…and it was good

But when you give to the needy, do not let your left hand know what your right hand is doing (Matthew 6:3, ESV)

I decided not to obey this rule: my brain doesn’t allow for playing tricks on itself so I always end up feeling superior after such acts.

I came then with two solutions to the dilemma:

  • one is showing everybody what good deed I’ve just done
  • the other is to let the needy help himself with whatever I can slip out accidentally.

In the first case I can cure myself of immodesty, in the second case, the recipient of my indirect charity can keep his self-esteem relatively intact.

Phew! Problem solved.

Wait, how can I fit these in the following?

For whosoever will save his life shall lose it: and whosoever will lose his life for my sake shall find it. (Matthew 16:25, KJV)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

